View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share

BOE honors school district's top teachers

POSTED: September 4, 2014 9:56 a.m.
Zac Taylor/Barrow County News

The Winder-Barrow High saxophone ensemble and brass quintet performed during the TOTY reception prior to the meeting.

View Larger
View More »

The Barrow County Board of Education honored its Teachers of the Year for the 2014-2015 school year both before and during the Tuesday night board meeting.

Among those recognized during the meeting was system-wide Teacher of the Year Colene Cannarella of Apalachee High, who was named the winner near the end of the previous school year.

In an unusual course of events, Cannarella was actually notified of being named the district’s top teacher by many of the district’s top staff, while the school was temporarily locked down due to anonymous threats scrawled on a bathroom wall.

Making a tense situation better, she was able to share in her success with much of the student body, which had congregated on the bleachers at the football stadium while Sherriff’s Deputies checked the school.

The other teachers recognized (school level winners) include:

Haley Meier, Auburn Elementary

Connie Ellington, Bethlehem Elementary

Leigh Hutchins, Bramlett Elementary

Jennifer Snipes, County Line Elementary

Meaghan Hagewood, Holsenbeck Elementary

Carl McCoy, Kennedy Elementary

Ian Canalis, Statham Elementary

Bob Rogan, Yargo Elementary

Susan Sheffield, Bear Creek Middle

Ryan Jones, Haymon-Morris Middle

Katherine Williamson, Russell Middle

Erin Dobbs, Westside Middle

Joe Costello, Snodon Preparatory

Craig Martin, Winder-Barrow High



  • Bookmark and Share

No comments have been posted.



Login to post a comment encourages readers to interact with one another. We will not edit your comments, but we reserve the right to delete any inappropriate responses.

To report offensive or inappropriate comments, contact our editor.

The comments below are from readers of and do not necessarily represent the views of The Newspaper or Morris Multimedia.
You must be logged in to post comments. Login ›


Contents of this site are © Copyright 2010 Barrow County News, Winder, Ga. All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...